Hangover Mondays

Hope everyone had a good weekend.  First off I would like to congratulate my cousin Ashley for getting married Friday night.  It was a fun time and I wish you both many happy years together.

Today Marks Day 1 of Tony Gentilecore’s Deadlifting Challenge, where you have a week to see who can deadlift the most weight (total volume).  I came out strong this morning trying to focus on slightly higher reps in order to up the volume.  My workout today went as follows

225×10

275×10

275×10

275×10

275×10

275×10

225×10

(BTW those sets of 275 for ten reps is still higher than Dan Harding’s one rep max for deadlift)

Image

 

So today’s total lift accumulated to 18,250 pounds. WOW.  Those sets of 10 at 275 were rough, but I feel that if I keep that up for the duration of the challenge I will do pretty well (not to mention adding some amazing hypertrophy).  Tony – I better have literal buns of steel when this is over!

 

Last week I got to train a 14 year old football player who just wanted an introduction to weight lifting, as he has never done it before.  

He has mild scoliosis so not only was his spine completely out of whack, but his hips were out of alignment as well, which was not fun to work with.  There is no way I am going to be able to fix his spine, that is way out of my field, but the hip problem is something I have dealt with in the past and seems like a great place for me to start.

So I started him off with a simple plank to see if he could properly align his hips on his own and hold correct position.  After some simple cuing from me he was able to do just that.  He had to work for it, but he learned that in order for him to move properly he has to work for it (a good lesson).

After a few grueling planks I had him to a bodyweight squat.  His form was a little bit off so I handed him a 10 pound plate to use as a counterbalance (holding the weight straight out in front when you squat), and BOOM dropped straight into a perfect deep squat.  What the counterbalance does is it causes your body to shift slightly posterior giving you a little bit of assistance to do the squat properly.  I had him do this a few times to get it into his head how he is supposed to shift his hips first then lower his body to the floor.  I removed the weight and the bodyweight squat stuck perfectly.  I had to force him to see for himself how the squat looked when done properly.

Next time I train him I will teach him how to deadlift with the trap bar.  I will start him with a kettlebell in a sumo stance just until he gets the form right.

14 years old is the perfect age to begin a Strength and Conditioning program, where the focus is to learn motor control and stability, as well as teaching the lifts properly so when he is ready to lift heavy, he will be able to do so.

Last week I talked about Strength Coach Chris Howard’s presentation at Cressey Performances Fall Seminar on Program Design for Youth Athletes (if you haven’t read it, please do Here).  This kid perfectly fits in with what he was discussing.  Talking about learning fundamentals of weight training before actual sports specific training.

Hope everyone has a good week!

Leave a Reply

